top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBeth Lindley

Printing with metallic ink

Over the last couple of years, I've started experimenting more with printmaking.

I've tried different methods, from etching and engraving, to monoprinting, to reduction printmaking.

My most recent print idea was to create an image using metallic ink onto black paper.

Usually when carving a lino block, you cut away the areas you want to stay white. The block is inked up with black ink and printed onto white paper. But in this case, since the paper is black and the ink light, I had to reverse this.

I chose one of my favourite subjects, a lion. I chose this image below, then inverted it to use as a reference when cutting the block.


I then carved the block until I was happy with the result, being mindful of contrast and inverting images of the block at intervals to check that it looked right.

I started by carving around the outline of the lion, then cutting away the excess lino. This block was hessian backed lino, so this was easy to do and makes it less messy to print.

The issue with hessian backed lino is that the fibers from the hessian can get into the ink causing the block to have uneven spots, but this can be remedied by using a lighter to burn away these fibers at the edge of the block.



Once I was happy with the carve, I did a test print.

Initially, I kept the bottom of the block to add "noise" to the part of the mane in shadow. I also wanted to keep the outline of this part of the mane. After printing I decided it looked a bit too messy, so before printing again I cut this part away.

I also created deeper gouges in the lino, as the previous ones were a bit too subtle to create a notable contrast between the dark and light areas.

This was the second test, and final result of the print. It's unfortunately difficult to pick up the metallic sheen of the ink on camera, but it worked really well and I'll definitely be trying this with another block!



You can view a video which shows the effect a bit better on my instagram post, click below.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page